Exploring the Past in Old Cromwell Town
Upon the completion of the Clyde Dam in 1992, the valley behind the dam was flooded to create Lake Dunstan. To preserve the town's gold mining and pioneering past, dedicated volunteers painstakingly moved the buildings from Cromwell's original town centre to higher ground.
Visitors can now wander through historical buildings, dating between 1860 and 1900, including London House Stables, Captain Barry's cottage, the Cobb & Co Store, Belfast Store and Jolly's Seed & Grain Store.
From the wharf, the 1929 kauri launch MV Waitika takes passengers on a leisurely cruise on Lake Dunstan, exploring rugged gorges and gold mining remnants.
Artists and craftspeople feature in Old Cromwell Town and have the chance to show off their talents and wares at Captain Barry's Summer Fete, Junction Function Easter Fair and Labour Weekend Market Day.